Board Members


The Commission is managed by a board of six Moroccans and six resident Americans who all serve without compensation. Board Members are appointed respectively by the Moroccan Minister of Foreign Affairs and the American Ambassador to Morocco, both of whom serve as Honorary Co-Chairs of the Commission board.

The board meets several times each year to set policy and review Commission activities. A sub-committee of the board is responsible for the screening and selection of candidates.

The J.William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, a Presidentially-appointed committee of twelve, establishes general policy guidelines and oversees the final selection of all grantees. In addition, the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, U.S. Department of State (ECA) and MACECE are assisted in the administration of the program by the following co-operating agencies: The Council for the International Exchange of Scholars (CIES), the Institute of International Education (IIE), The International Research & Exchanges Board IREX and AMIDEAST.


  • Dr. James A. MILLER, MACECE Executive Secretary.
  • Mr. Khalid BAALOU, MACECE Deputy Executive Secretary.
  • MACECE Board members as of January 2017